On Wednesday 3 April 2019, the city of Roeselare will welcome 25 of the world’s top cycling teams for the 74th edition of Dwars door Vlaanderen. After a genuinely ‘Flandrien’ edition in 2018, the slate is once again clean and ready to have the name of the latest winner etched upon it in Waregem, a rider that will come either from one of the 18 participating WorldTour teams or one of the seven ProContinental teams with a wildcard.

With Dwars door Vlaanderen part of the WorldTour, fans can look forward to seeing the strongest teams in the pro peloton compete. Deceuninck - Quick-Step heads to the race as defending champions after repeat victories from Yves Lampaert over the two past editions; Movistar heads to Belgium with world champion Alejandro Valverde and we will, of course, also see the CCC Team of Greg Van Avermaet and Lotto Soudal of former winner Jelle Wallays.

The organisation has also issued seven wildcards to ProContinental teams which sees them take part in the race which falls in the middle of the ‘Vlaamse Wielerweek’ – Flemish Cycling Week. Three of these teams are Belgian: Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise, Wanty-Gobert Cycling Team and Corendon-Circus, the latter starting with the newly crowned cyclocross world champion Mathieu van der Poel. The French teams Cofidis, Solutions Crédits, Vital Concept-B&B Hotels and Direct Energie, of joint-record holder Niki Terpstra, have also been granted an entry to the race. Finally, Israel Cycling Academy completes the list of teams racing between Roeselare and Waregem.

At the moment, it’s anyone’s guess as to who will finish on the top step of the podium in Waregem on Wednesday 3 April. We will know more once the list of participants is issued in due course.


Right Click

No right click